What I Hate: Facebook

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a “What I Hate” and this is a tricky one for me.  Let me preface this by saying I use Facebook daily, and that’s why I hate it so much.  Social networking has literally entered every facet of our lives and it’s taken us over for good.  Facebook emerged as the clear cut winner in keeping tabs on people you don’t really care about.  The problem is, 99% of Facebook users are tricked into thinking that Facebook is the end all be all to being popular.

I’m about to make broad generalizations here, so if I’m not describing you don’t get all defensive.  But most of Facebook users are just looking for attention.  You know who these people are.  The ones who are all over writing about a current event with a funny little opinion.  Or the “like my status if you think I’m cute.”  And the “nothing to do tonight, hmu.”  These people are desperately trying to find anyone in their Facebook world to hang out with, even if they haven’t seen them in years.  And most of the time people are looking for this…

Yes, they live for “likes.”  If they post a status that doesn’t get a few likes, they panic and make up for it with more statuses.  This defeats the purpose of statuses.  That’s why I’d rather read “heading to the mall” then someone trying to fish for likes.  People are going out of their way to post things they know will get likes so it makes them think they’re more popular than they actually are.  And that’s not my only beef with Facebook.  The addictiveness of it is out of hand.  How many times have you stared at Facebook?  I’m not talking about reading through a newsfeed or creeping on a profile.  I’m talking legit staring at nothing, waiting for something to happen.  There have been studies that show Facebook can be linked to depression and that makes sense.  How many times have you said to yourself, “is anyone listening to me?”  That’s the type of shit that is disgusting about Facebook.

And then there’s the creeping.  See a cute girl in class and want to know what she looks like in a bikini?  Done.  Want to know someones sexual orientation and if they’re in a relationship?  You got it.  We give out this information for the world to see and think nothing of it.  So when people creep on your Facebook, there’s really nothing you can do about it.

And we’re all guilty of it.  Every fucking one of us that has a profile.  If you say you don’t, you’re lying.  And want to know what the creepiest thing is to me?  Think of the kids!  When you were 12 years old, what were you doing?  I was playing baseball and sports with my friends after school and ran around the neighborhood on the weekends.  Kids these days are on Facebook, tapped in, at all times.  They grew up in a world where popularity has literally revolved around Facebook.  It’s where you go to witness two friends fighting.  Where you go when you want to see your crush.  Where you go when you’re pissed and want to talk shit with your friends about school.  Facebook essentially replaced the lunch room in schools around the country.

And even though all of these things absolutely piss me off, the one thing that pisses me off the most is that I can’t bring myself to do it…

Guess I figure I’ll miss something important or someone will need to get in contact with me one day.  And that pisses me the fuck off.  I love hate it.

About SickBuck

I am the mighty Sick Buck, and this is where you bow before me. I'm 24 and live in South Boston, Massachusetts. I'm a diehard sports fan, like to make fun of things and enjoy the touch of a woman. This is a blog that shows a Bostonian's view on the world.

Posted on September 5, 2011, in SickBuck, What I Hate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have deleted my account around 6 months ago and its the best thing I ever did. There is nothing good to come of having a Facebook presence, only hours of lost time and useless information. I am 20 and have never been comfortable with the network, even though I have many friends not all of them use it and we prefer to meet up at the pub or go for a hike together. These Facebook junkies live very boring lives, and feel a need to fabricate on FB in order to feel good about themselves. It is just a sickening and depressing environment to be apart of, and I am glad to be gone and have not missed it for a day. I still keep up on current events and talk to my friends on a regular basis, FB is not the be all end all and the sooner people realise this the better off we will all be. Delete your account, feel liberated.

  1. Pingback: What the Fuck Did They Do to Facebook? « Sick Buck

Leave a comment